Skip to main content

Littlehampton Harbour Board was founded by an Act of Parliament in 1927, replacing the earlier Commissioners of the Port of Arundel and Harbour of Littlehampton.

Harbour Beginnings

There has been a port on the River Arun since Roman times its fascinating history reflects physical, economic and social change over the centuries. Mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Hantone, it is thought that the prefix Little was applied to distinguish it from Southampton.

The arrival of the railway in 1863, saw Littlehampton become the main port of the River Arun. Over the centuries the Harbour has been home to a variety of trade, from fishing to ship building and the importing of aggregates and Baltic wood.

Today, the Harbour remains a small but busy port that caters for leisure activities including yachting, jet skis, sport and commercial fishing as well as larger commercial traffic and is a gateway to the historic town of Arundel and South Downs national park.

Swing Bridge

During the 18th and 19th Centuries, as trade in and around the harbour increased, the arguments for a bridge linking east and west sides gained momentum. In May 1908, the swing bridge was opened for use by both vehicles and foot passengers, replacing the old ferry barge.

The original swing bridge was replaced in 1973 by a retractable footbridge, fondly known to this day, as the Red Bridge.